• The ALSGBI has a Council, chaired by the President
  • Members of Council are elected by the membership of their region
  • Honorary Officers of the Association are elected by members of Council
  • The Council meets at regular intervals and is responsible for the management of the Association affairs and for the strategic expansion of Laparoscopic Surgery and techniques by the dissemination of knowledge and advice to its membership and to the public.
  • It has the responsibility of monitoring and approving training centres in laparoscopic surgery, and providing advice on laparoscopic surgery to the Association of Surgeons of Great Britain and Ireland, and to organisations such as the National Institute for Clinical Excellence.

ALSGBI Values & Code of Conduct

The ALSGBI is an inclusive organisation, which means we welcome people of all ethnic backgrounds, genders and gender orientations, ages and other personal characteristics. In line with the Equality Act 2010, we would never discriminate on the grounds of a personal characteristic, or collude (actively or passively) with any of our contacts, sponsors or facilities providers to do so. At a wider level, we respect all people and believe in human dignity.

Members of Council, volunteers and collaborating parties agree to:

  • be polite, professional and respectful in all communications, including in person and in emails and texts, and use correct job titles where appropriate
  • act in a timely manner and in the best interests of the ALSGBI
  • declare any actual or potential conflicts of interest

Current ALSGBI Council List

Position Member
President Professor T Arulampalam
Past President Mr D Mahon
Honorary Secretary Mr A Day
Honorary Treasurer Mr S Higgs
Director of Education & Rep. on BOMSS Council Mr A Awan
Members of Council Anglian – Mr N Keeling
Ireland – Mr G Macaulay
Midlands – Mr J Ahmad
Northern and Yorkshire – Professor YKS Viswanath
North West and Mersey – Professor C Selvasekar
North Thames – Professor B Patel
Oxford and Wessex – Mr S Mercer
Scotland – Ms S Shaikh
South Thames – Mr I Jourdan
South and West – Ms E Upchurch
Trent – Mr I Bhatti
Wales – Mr G Whiteley
Academy Representative Ms T Morrison
Academy Medical Student Reps Mr Juin Low & Miss Yuri Hirayama
Academy Support Us Reps Miss Anna Palepa & Mr Thomas Mroczek
ACPGBI Representative Ms A Siddika
ALSGBI Representative at AUGIS Professor YKS Viswanath
ALSGBI Representative at BOMSS Mr A Awan
ALSGBI Representative at EAES Professor N Francis
ALTS Representative Mrs D Gooch
ALTS Deputy Representative Ms A Jones
ASiT Representative Mr M Harris
AUGIS Representative Mr N Maynard
BOMSS Representative Mr C Parmar
CORESS Representative Mr A Day
Director of Audit Professor N Francis
Diversity & Equality Representative Mr A Reddy
EAES Representative Ms Marina Yiasemidou
Editorial & Website Secretary Mr N Keeling
ESG Representative Ms Vivien Ngo
International Representative Professor C Selvasekar
Research Director Professor J Khan
Welfare Officer Ms Minali Perera


Honorary Members

Professor Michael Bailey
Professor Willem Bemelman
Professor Luigi Boni
Professor Philippus Bornman
Professor Sir Alfred Cuschieri
Professor Steven Demeester
Mr Norman Dorricott
Dr Jean-Louis Dulucq
Mrs Christine Fielding
Mr George Fielding
Professor Brice Gayet
Dr Stephen Grobler
Professor Christiano Huscher
Dr J R Jamieson
Professor Scott Kelley
Professor Michael Kendrick
Dr Dominic King
Mr James Kinross
Mr Michael Li
Professor Hans Lonroth
Professor Michael McMahon
Professor Roger Motson
Professor Les Nathanson
Dr Nick O’Rourke
Professor Chinnusamy Palanivelu
Professor Michael Parker
Professor Amjad Parvaiz
Dr Joe Petellin
Mr Romain Pizzi
Dr J A Potgieter
Professor Saumitra Rawat
Miss Chantelle Rizan
Dr Barry Salky
Professor Lee Swanstrom
Mr Sandie R Thomson
Mr Ben Tipney
Dr Tim Tollens
Professor Mark I. Van Berge Henegouwen
Professor Heine Van Der Walt
Professor Martin Walz

The Constitution can be accessed HERE